Our Board


President: Nick Faber, Teacher, St. Paul Federation of Teachers, MN

Vice President: Michele Brooks, Consultant, Former Assistant Superintendent, Boston Public Schools

Secretary: Jennifer Calder, Montana Kids Count, University of Montana

CFO: Steve Ly,  Mayor, Elk Grove, CA

Tu Moua Carroz, Assistant Superintendent, Sacramento City Unified School District

Samantha Cohen, National Director of Training and Support, Flamboyan Foundation, Washington DC

Traci Davis, Superintendent, Washoe County School District, Reno, NV

Christine Doby, Program Officer, Charles Stewart Mott Foundation

David Fisher, Teacher, Vice President, Sacramento City Teachers’ Association, Sacramento, CA

Roberta Furger, Senior Writer, Learning Policy Institute, Palo Alto, CA

Hector Montenegro, Senior District Consultant, CASEL, Chicago, IL

Tara Parrish, Director, Pioneer Valley Project, Springfield, MA

Andrea Prejean, Director, Teacher Quality, National Educational Association, Washington, DC

Christina Pritchett, SCUSD Board President, Sacramento CA

Kwesi Rollins, Institute for Educational Leadership, Washington, DC

Shital Shah, Human Rights and Community Relations, American Federation of Teachers, Washington, DC


Carolyn Doggett, California Teachers Association (retired)

Dick Gale, Institute for Teaching

Anne Henderson, Annenberg Institute for School Reform

Jim Keddy, Youth Forward

Howard Lawrence, People in Community Organizing (PICO)

Karen Mapp, Harvard Graduate School of Education

Jonathan Raymond, President, Stuart Foundation

Jay Schenirer, Sacramento City Council Member

Eric Zachary, American Federation of Teachers

Who We Are